Sunday, July 20, 2008

Earth - Hex: Or Printing In The Infernal Method

This gem from Earth is a concept album that draws inspiration from the American frontier. But don't get me wrong here--this isn't some spaghetti western soundtrack. The instrumentation is flagrantly of the country-western persuasion, but something more ominous lies underneath the slow and droning chord structures. From the short soundscape at the beginning, "Mirage", to the very bitter and melancholy end, "Tethered To The Polestar", this album is post-rock/doom-country bliss, as odd as that must sound. Dylan Carlson found a working formula, and it reeks of win.

1. Mirage 1:45
2. Land Of Some Other Order 7:18
3. The Dire And Ever Circling Wolves 7:34
4. Left In The Desert 1:13
5. Lens Of Unrectified Night 7:56
6. An Inquest Concerning Teeth 5:16
7. Raiford (The Felon Wind) 7:21
8. The Dry Lake 3:21
9. Tethered To The Polestar 4:42

Download "Hex: Or Printing In The Infernal Method"

1 comment:

loutibbs said...

uh dude, there's no link.